For Adults

Item request has been placed! ×
Item request cannot be made. ×
loading  Processing Request

GENEALOGY EVENTS!
LIBRARIAN GWEN KELLEY LEADS 14 FREE FAMILY RESEARCH SESSIONS THIS SPRING

 

Gwen Kelley, a librarian who specializes in genealogy and local history, will lead a series of 14 seminars via streaming focusing on family research seminars this spring.

The sessions will be broadcast into the River Ridge (8825 Jefferson Highway) and North Kenner (630 Esplanade Avenue) libraries on the East Bank, and the Terrytown (680 Heritage Avenue), Belle Terre (5550 Belle Terre Road) and West Bank Regional (2751 Manhattan Boulevard) libraries on the West Bank. These sessions will be taped and will be archived on the library’s website.

Patrons will be able to access each presentation by going to the library’s website at the time of the presentation.

Each event is free of charge and is open to the public. There is no registration.

The events occur on the following times and dates:

2 p.m. Monday, March 14 – Census

2 p.m. Monday, March 21 – Vital Records

2 p.m. Monday, March 28 – Newspapers and Obituaries

2 p.m. Monday, April 4 – Cemetery Records

2 p.m. Monday, April 11 – Military Records

2 p.m. Monday, April 21 – Immigration Records

2 p.m. Monday, April 28 – Facebook for Genealogy

2 p.m. Monday, May 2 – Google for Genealogy 

2 p.m. Monday, May 9 – French Canadian Records

2 p.m. Monday, May 16 – Tracing Female Records

2 p.m. Monday, May 23 – Prison Records

2 p.m. Monday, May 30 is Memorial Day

2 p.m. Monday, June 6 – Genetic Genealogy

2 p.m. Monday, June 13 – Genealogical Proof Standard

 

Workflow: 
Published

For more information about Adult Programming, contact Chris Smith at (504) 889-8143.

East Bank Regional Schedule
West Bank Regional Schedule
Branch Libraries Schedule

 

 

In accordance with provisions of the American with Disabilities Act Amendments Act of 2008, as amended, Jefferson Parish shall not discriminate against individuals with disabilities on the basis of disability in its services, programs or activities.  If you require auxiliary aids or devices, or other reasonable accommodation under the ADA Amendments Act, please submit your request to the ADA Coordinator at least forty-eight (48) hours in advance or as soon as practical. A seventy-two (72) hour advanced notice is required to request Certified ASL interpreters. ADA Coordinator/Office of Citizens with Disabilities, 1221 Elmwood Park Blvd., Suite 403, Elmwood, LA 70123,
(504) 736-6086, ADA@jeffparish.net

Workflow: 
Published